Great things we did in 2013

2013 was a great year!!    Blessed was the theme of 2013 in my mind and in our lives. Having the audacity to leave everyone and everything behind to venture into the great wide open on an epic road trip with my lover? I didn’t think I had it in me! Jim and I reminisce about our first weeks in NOLA and how nothing will ever feel quite like it. We had made it- our pockets were lighter but our hearts were full. I’ll never forget driving to my first job in downtown New Orleans (supervisor at a coffee shop) I would be driving to work at 430 in the morning crying to myself in happiness that I had made it- Jim and I were making it on our own- we had jobs and I get to see something new everyday! Drive past the Super Dome to go to work! Of course I have my home sickness and cry over songs on the radio missing my family, but I’m also proud that I can say I had the most awesome Christmas and Thanksgiving and Birthday, somehow without any of the most important people. Jimmy and I had the time of our lives with only each other. This city is a little magic.

2013 Fun events with Jimmy-

January- I got a job at Holy Cow (Jim worked security)

Feb 2013- we saw the movie MAMA in theaters (LOOOOVED IT) and went out to eat at Hop Valley

March (spring break)-House sat my Aunt Kathy’s house and had fun playing with Freddy and Vito

June- amazing road trip to MOVE TO NEW ORLEANS LA and ARRIVE IN NOLA 6/28/13 -Grace and I ran to each other with open arms

-Fun on the road trip included california adventures with Tanya, amazing food and hotel luxury, underground caves in Carlsbad, New Mexico and a whole lots of inside jokes and memories we will cherish for ever!

July- Jim’s birthday! –

We both got jobs -JIm at Pizza hut, Myself at Greenberry’s coffee

The two week period that we were living at Kenny’s between the Krzenski’s and our appartment. Some of the most classic NOLA memories begin at the house next door to the Krzenskis

September-Quit at Greenberry’s and got a job at JoAnn fabrics that I walked to and home from,

October-Jim took me to see The Book of Mormon at the Saenger Theater and then we went to dinner and explored Bourbon and Royal for hours. There ended up being a Halloween parade on Canal street we stayed to watch and collected candy!

November-The day before my bday I get a call from Adeeta that I got a much higher paying job I interviewed for weeks prior!! I now work at Sabine Surveyors! (3 jobs this year!)

My 24th birthday – shopping spree, lunch at Emeril’s NOLA, zoo what more could a girl ask for!

Thanksgiving with the Krzenski’s – we all crammed into Rob’s awesome zen retreat and enjoyed a delicious meal and family time

December- Christmas and leading up to it this whole year was magical. In spite of missing my family and home deeply I did not miss the cold! I instituted a new tradition this year its called 24 days of togetherness I got the idea from this blog post. We really played up the holiday season and spoiled each other. It may be my best Christmas ever, even though on xmas day Jim and I had to go prep dough at the Hut at least it was the prelude to driving around to look at Christmas lights.

THROUGHOUT THE YEAR:

Many, many times hanging out with Tara after work

Many, many sleepovers at Jimmy’s

Friday night Game nights at my parents house

We were blessed this year, by our family and friends, during our move and in our relationship. Let’s make 2014 even better!!!

My next post will be my new years resolutions one of which is to write a post once a week!

Leave a Reply

